top of page

April 2024: Market ramp-up of electric cars by 2035 in 10 European countries

Dynamic market ramp-up of e-cars

The market ramp-up of e-cars has gained considerable momentum in recent years thanks to technological advances in e-cars and the charging infrastructure as well as ambitious targets in politics and industry. Today, electric cars are suitable for everyday use. Charging electric cars at HPC charging hubs is also possible quickly and comprehensively over long distances.

 

Study "Charging infrastructure after 2025/2030: scenarios for the market ramp-up"

In 2020, the study "Charging infrastructure after 2025/2030", prepared by our colleagues Alexander Windt and Oliver Arnhold and commissioned by the BMVI, was published. Among other things, it reassessed the German government's existing political goal of having 10.5 million electric cars on the road in Germany by 2030. In the confidential cleanroom discussions, the car manufacturers active in Germany were asked about the planned registration figures and technical data for their e-cars. The result: by 2030, the total number of e-cars (battery electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids) could rise to 14.8 million, including around 9.6 million battery electric vehicles. The German government's goal in 2021 was to transform Germany into the driving lead market for electromobility by 2030. To achieve this, around 15 million e-cars are to be on the roads by then.

 

New edition of the study "Charging infrastructure after 2025/2030: Scenarios for the market ramp-up"

On behalf of the BMDV, the study "Charging infrastructure after 2025/2030: Scenarios for the market ramp-up" was updated by our colleague Alexander Windt as co-author in close cooperation between the Reiner Lemoine Institute and the National Centre for Charging Infrastructure. As part of the update, a.) the manufacturers active in Germany were again asked about their plans and b.) the market ramp-up of electric cars in Germany up to the year 2035 was forecast. According to this, 16.6 million e-cars could be registered in Germany by 2030. A figure of around 26 million e-cars was calculated for the year 2035.

 

Our Localiser customers get the complete package
Localiser customers were previously able to plan charging infrastructure in 10 European countries based on a reliable forecast for the market ramp-up of electric cars by 2030. That has changed: We are extending the time horizon to 2035 so that the longer depreciation periods of charging infrastructure are also covered in our forecasts. To do this, we evaluate various public and non-public sources and always take current market developments into account. The registration figures for the current year have led to a slight correction of the forecast. Germany is therefore assuming just under 26 million e-cars in 2035. However, our message is clear: in the medium and long term, the current events and discussions in Germany will not have a major impact on the market ramp-up of e-cars in Europe.

bottom of page

top of page

Mai 2024: Markthochlauf von E-Pkw bis zum Jahr 2035 in 10 europäischen Ländern

Dynamischer Markthochlauf von E-Pkw

Der Markthochlauf von E-Pkw hat durch den technologischen Fortschritt bei E-Pkw und der Ladeinfrastruktur sowie ambitionierten Zielen in der Politik sowie Industrie in den letzten Jahren stark an Dynamik gewonnen. Elektroautos sind heute alltagstauglich. Auch auf der Langstrecke ist die Ladung der Elektrofahrzeuge an HPC-Lade-Hubs flächendeckend und schnell möglich. 

Studie „Ladeinfrastruktur nach 2025/2030: Szenarien für den Markthochlauf“

Im Jahr 2020 wurde die von unseren Kollegen Alexander Windt und Oliver Arnhold erstellte und vom BMVI beauftragte Studie „Ladeinfrastruktur nach 2025/2030“ veröffentlicht. Unter anderem wurde das bis dahin bestehende politische Ziel der Bundesregierung, 10,5 Mio. E-Pkw bis zum Jahr 2030 in Deutschland auf der Straße zu haben, neu bewertet. In den vertraulichen Cleanroom-Gesprächen wurden die in Deutschland aktiven Automobilhersteller zu den geplanten Zulassungszahlen sowie technischen Daten ihrer Modelle befragt. Das Ergebnis: Bis zum Jahr 2030 könnte der Bestand demnach auf insgesamt 14,8 Mio. E-Pkw (batterieelektrische Fahrzeuge und Plug-in-Hybridfahrzeuge), darunter ca. 9,6 Mio. batterieelektrische Fahrzeuge, ansteigen. Das Ziel der Bundesregierung im Jahr 2021 war es, Deutschland bis 2030 zum antreibenden Leitmarkt für die Elektromobilität zu wandeln. Dazu sollen bis dahin rund 15 Millionen E-Autos auf den Straßen fahren. 

Neuauflage der Studie „Ladeinfrastruktur nach 2025/2030: Szenarien für den Markthochlauf“

Im Auftrag des BMDV wurde die Studie „Ladeinfrastruktur nach 2025/2030: Szenarien für den Markthochlauf“ in enger Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Reiner Lemoine Institut sowie der Nationalen Leitstelle Ladeinfrastruktur von unserem Kollegen Alexander Windt als Mitautor aktualisiert. Durch die Aktualisierung wurden a.) die in Deutschland aktiven Hersteller erneut zu ihren Planungen befragt und b.) der Markthochlauf von E-Pkw in Deutschland bis zum Jahr 2035 prognostiziert. Demnach könnten im Jahr 2030 bereits 16,6 Mio. E-Pkw in Deutschland zugelassen sein. Für das Jahr 2035 wurde ein Wert von ca. 28,5 Mio. E-Pkw ermittelt. 

Für unsere Localiser-Kundschaft all-inclusiveKund:innen von Localiser konnten bisher auf Basis einer belastbaren Prognose zum Markthochlauf von E-Pkw bis zum Jahr 2030 Ladeinfrastruktur in 10 europäischen Ländern planen. Das hat sich geändert: Wir erweitern den Zeithorizont bis zum Jahr 2035, sodass auch die längeren Abschreibungszeiten von Ladeinfrastruktur in unseren Prognosen abgedeckt sind. Dafür werten wir unterschiedliche öffentliche sowie nicht-öffentliche Quellen aus und berücksichtigen stets die aktuelle Entwicklung des Marktes. Die Zulassungszahlen des laufenden Jahres haben zu einer leichten Korrektur der Prognose geführt. In Deutschland gehen wir daher von knapp 26 Mio. Elektroautos im Jahr 2035 aus. Unsere Nachricht ist jedoch klar: Mittel- und langfristig haben die aktuellen Vorgänge und Diskussionen in Deutschland keinen großen Einfluss auf den Markthochlauf von E-Pkw in Europa.

bottom of page